San Luis Obispo College of Law’s mission is to provide a quality legal education in a community law school setting with graduates who are dedicated to professional excellence, integrity, and community service.

San Luis Obispo College of Law is accredited by the Committee of Bar Examiners of the State Bar of California to offer three law degree programs.

The Doctor of Jurisprudence (J.D.)

  • The Doctor of Jurisprudence (J.D.) degree is a three-to-four year (90 unit) traditional U.S. graduate law degree program designed for individuals who wish to be licensed as a California attorney.

The LL.M in International Law (LL.M)

  • The LL.M in International Law (LL.M) degree program is a one-year (24 unit) advanced graduate law degree for individuals who have already completed their first degree in law.  It is available for qualified U.S. and International law school graduates who wish to study International law and policy.

The Master of Legal Studies (M.L.S.)

  • The Master of Legal Studies (M.L.S.) is a two-year (36 unit) graduate degree program for individuals who do wish to study American law, but who do not intend to prepare for the California State Bar Exam.

San Luis Obispo College of Law offers serious, highly motivated students the opportunity to seek a career change, re-enter the workforce, or advance their current professional career by obtaining a legal education. Most of the students at San Luis Obispo College of Law work while attending law school in the evenings.   Courses are taught by practicing lawyers and judges who emphasize training in legal skills and professional responsibility.  Professors are knowledgeable in legal theory and practice.  Small classes allow students the opportunity to get to know our faculty and to build long-lasting professional networks with their fellow students.

Monterey College of Law – Photo by Nicole Barkis

Through our Mandell Gisnet Center for Conflict Management, the law school provides clinical programs that provide practical training for our students and help meet the needs of the under-served members of our community.  We have partnered with the Monterey and Santa Cruz Superior Courts to develop grant-funded mediation programs that are the first of their type in Northern California, including mediation programs for small claims, landlord-tenant, collections, and neighbor disputes.

Monterey College of Law was founded more than forty years ago to serve the communities of the California central coast.  San Luis Obispo College of Law continues to succeed in that mission.  Our alumni are community leaders, judges, lawyers and business professionals representing the broad spectrum of individuals, organizations and industries that define the region.

2016-2017 Board of Trustees



Fred Herro, Chair – Attorney, Private Practice, Monterey
Dinah Sapia, Chair Elect – Attorney, Private Practice, Santa Cruz
Brenda Murdock, Immediate Past Chair – Attorney, Private Practice, Monterey
Clark Savage, Treasurer – CPA, Savage and Lucido Accountants
Doug McKnight – Secretary–General Manager (Retired), KAZU Radio
Charles McKee – At-Large- Attorney, County Counsel, Monterey County


Bill Daniels – Attorney, Private Practice, Monterey
Hon. Ralph Drummond – Deceased
Hon. Richard Silver – Arbitrator and Mediator, JAMS
Michelle Welsh – Attorney, Private Practice, Pacific Grove


Leslie Cooley – Professor Emerita, School of Psychology, Sacramento State
Hon. Andrew Liu – Judge, Monterey County Superior Court
Kellie Morgantini – Executive Director, Legal Services for Seniors
Juliet Peck – Attorney, Private Practice, Monterey
Maribel Penaloza – Public Defender’s Office, Monterey County
Seth Pollack – Professor and Director of Service Learning, CSU Monterey Bay
Hon. Heidi Whilden – Judge, Monterey County Superior Court
Sarah Cavassa, Faculty Rep. – Attorney, Private Practice, Monterey


Jennifer Alton
Tana Coates
Michael Devitt
Rob Dimitrijevich
Crystal Forsher
Barbara George
Hon. Douglas Hilton (Ret.)
Angie King
Sharon Lizardo
Ray Mattison
Craig McCollum
Bill Powell
Ellen Sheffer


Mitchel Winick
President and Dean
831-582-4000 ext. 1015


Wendy LaRiviere
Assoc. Dean of Admissions
831-582-4000 ext. 1012


Sharon L. Lizardo
Adminsitrative Dean


Jennifer Alton
Dean of External Affairs


Dena Jones
Campus Administrator


Lisa Marie Williams
Executive Administrator